Introduced in v 3.80
Event Operations (Event edit page)
Cancelling an event:
Booking button will be removed and a “cancelled msg” will appear instead.
If enabled, people that previously booked are emailed. (requires emails addon)
When you deactivate an event, booking is removed and a message is shown instead.